The Beginning of My New Book!

Hey everybody!  It’s me…again.  I just have a shorty clip of my new book i’m working on about World War Two.  This is a book i’m writing as part of my school this year.  So I won’t show you all of it, because my plan is to make it into an ebook.  But, we will see how it goes. 🙂

(This is a fictional story)

 

I was fifteen year old when the United States declared war on Japan on December 8, 1941.  It was a cold morning when we got the news.  I was sitting in our nice warm kitchen drinking a cup of hot chocolate and listening to the radio before having to head to school for the day.  It was snowing hard outside and dad had agreed to drive me there on his way to work, instead of doing my normal ritual of walking there.  I had just gotten up from the table and headed into the hallway to put my coat on when I hear my mom gasp and father say, “Oh, Lord help us!”  

I ran into the kitchen.  Father had a face of stone and mother had tears in her eyes.  “What happened?” I asked worriedly.

Father slowly sank into a chair and reached over to turn the radio off.  “The United States has declared war on Japan.”

Three days later on December 11th, Germany and Italy declared war on us.  We really war apart of the war now!

Father wasn’t surprised by the news.  He had been saying for months that there was no way for the United States to stay out of it.

Mother seemed to be denying that it was happening.  I think what scared her most was the fact that my older brother Mark had just turned eighteen, and would probably be getting a draft notice in the mail anytime.

Mark thought that is was going to be some bit adventure and couldn’t wait to join.

As for me?  Well, I can’t tell you that.  You will just have to read this book to find out.  Through these pages you will get to see the trials and triumphs and times of tears and joy that our family  faces in the face of the worlds most deadliest war.

Alice Gray

 

What do you guys think?  Does is peak your interest at all?  Thanks for reading and see you next time!

Britt

7 thoughts on “The Beginning of My New Book!

Leave a Reply

