God is on my side ~ Guest Post

Hello readers! First of all, I’d like to thank Maddy for letting me guest post. Thanks Maddy! I’m very excited to be guest posting today.
guest
My post today will be on fear. We’re all scared of something. I’m scared of chickens, and not really a fan of the dark either. In the Bible it says ‘do not be afraid’ 365 times, so you can always remember not to be afraid every day of the year! I love that idea. A year ago, I went through a sort of ‘phase’, you could say, where in the evenings when it was dark, I would get so scared and imagine frightening things. This was caused by people telling scary stories at school. It seems that people with a brilliant imagination get more scared of these things than others. At least this made me feel a little better.
But what cheers me most is God. Whenever I get scared or feel afraid, sometimes I imagine Jesus sitting by my side comforting me, and I say over and over again in my head Jesus loves me, Jesus loves me. It comforts me a lot to know that Jesus is there when I’m alone and afraid.One night, I was looking through my Bible trying to find verses that would help me when I was afraid, and I found this:
“You know how troubled I am; you have kept a record of my tears.
Aren’t they listed in your book?
The day I call to you, my enemies will be turned back.
I know this: God is on my side – the Lord whose promises I praise.
In him I trust, and I will not be afraid.
What can a mere human being do to me?”
Psalms 56:11, Good News Bible
These words always make me smile, and really comfort me. God is on my side. Sometimes I say that sentence too, over and over again in my head. It makes me want to shout with joy, and when I whoop loudly at 9:00 at night, I feel like my shout is drowning out all the evil I imagine. God is my shield. God is on my side.
When I think of all the terrorist attacks going on and I’m scared that one will occur near me, I just remember this verse and think What can a mere human being do to me? I don’t have to be afraid of terrorists, because God is so much more powerful than them. (On that note, please pray for the victims of these attacks, and pray that Isis will find the love of Jesus.) Remember, everyone: God is on your side! You have no reason to be afraid. Thanks for reading and I hope you have a lovely week!
10 thoughts on “God is on my side ~ Guest Post

    1. I did a post just like it to. It’s called Dark. We are all afraid of something and fear is a big part of our world right now. So fear is something we all relate to but we as Christians don’t have to be afraid! Our God is bigger than anything in this world: and that is awesome!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. This is a wonderful post! I’ve often felt afraid before too (though I think I’m getting a little better with it) and saying a prayer always helped. Thanks for the beautiful reminder that the Lord is always on my side.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

