The Importance of God’s Word

Hey everybody!  I hope your New Year is going well!  Today, i’m going to talk about something that often gets neglected in our time today.  And that’s God’s Word or better known as the Bible.  In our Nation we often take for granted the freedom we have to buy and read the Bible.  In many places around the world owning and reading the Bible is outlawed.  Many people have to secretly read the Bible.  I have heard many stories of people who walk miles and risk their lives just to own one.  I don’t know about you but, I know that my Bible spends lots of time just sitting on the shelf collecting dust.  And, when I hear stories of people thrown in prison or worse for talking about the Lord our reading there Bible I realize just how much I take God’s word for granted.

Reading the Bible is sooooooooo important!  Without reading the Bible we can’t grow in our walk with the Lord.  Here’s an example that made me giggle:

Jess woke up one morning and decided that she wasn’t going to eat food any more.  Why waste time eating?  So, she went without breakfast, lunch, dinner, and her snack before bed.  She woke up the next morning a little hungry but decided that she would be just fine and didn’t need to waste any time out of the day eating.  Another day passed and another and even another and Jess still didn’t eat.  Through those days Jess didn’t grow or flourish, she didn’t even stay the same as when she begin this no food diet.  She in fact got weaker and weaker.  She begin to realize that eating no food would make her weak and eventually worse would come to worse.  So, Jess decided that taking time to eat during the day was very important and begin to do so again.

Okay, so you are probably thinking of what a cheesy example that was.  I mean, reading that you probably thought of how obvious the outcome was going to be.  And now you are probably wondering what this has to do with the importance of reading the Bible.  It actually makes a lot of since.

Instead of taking that example from a physical point of view, lets look at it from a spiritual point of view.  Jess physically got weak from eating no food.  The same happens spiritually, if we don’t read our Bible we will get weaker spiritually.  The Bible is like our spiritual food.  Make since?

I found as a Christian I wasn’t reading my Bible is much as I should.  So, I started reading the Bible every night before bed.  And it works great!  I know for me I need my Bible reading to be scheduled or lots of times it won’t happen.  So, I made it so that I couldn’t turn my light out at night until my Bible reading was done.  I’ve also found that by doing this I have come to enjoy my Bible reading each night!

So, if you need to, schedule a time each day to do your Bible reading.  It might work better for you to do it in the morning, afternoon, evening, or before bed.  It all may depend on the fact of your schedule and your personality.  For instance you may be more of a morning person so, Bible reading is better for you in the morning.  Or, you might be a night person so, Bible reading might be better for you at night.  Another thing that some people like having is a plan to read the Bible in a year.  This may help some people stay on track with their Bible reading.  Just some ideas.  🙂

Thanks for taking the time to read this kind of long post and I hope it inspired you in your walk with the Lord! God Bless!

Britt

 

2 thoughts on “The Importance of God’s Word

  1. Thanks for sharing this! I have recently been watching some movies about people who will give up their life to read the Bible and it really amazes me. I know that I definitely take the Bible for granted. I think that making a schedule for reading the Bible helps a lot. There are times when I feel like I just don’t have time or it can wait until later, but then it never happens. Right now I’m reading the whole Old Testiment in a year and it’s working great!

    Like

Leave a Reply

