SKG Interview!

Hi everyone! I’m excited to be showing you all an interview that I recently did with Amanda. Not only does she has an amazing blog ( South Kakalaki Girl ) but she also started an online newsletter written by girls for girls! I loved the newsletters so much, that I am now also a writer of them! It’s so awesome and I love it! Here is my interview with her! Please check out her blog and you can subscribe to the newsletters if you’d like!

Hey, girls!  My name is Amanda Brown and I’m the 16 year old founder of SKG Fun, a blog and e-magazine written by girls, for girls.  Special thanks to Maddy to interviewing me!  I really do sincerely hope that you guys enjoy this interview.  I’d love to meet you on my blog at www.skgfun.com!

Here’s the interview and my answers.

Where did you come up with the name “South Kakalaki Girl”?

When I was brainstorming names for the e-magazine, I concocted quite a few names (among them Brown Arrow Girl and Girls Rule Magazine).  The winner was South Kakalaki Girl, as you can tell.

As far as how I came up with the title, I live in South Carolina so I wanted to incorporate that fact.  However, South Carolina Girl sounded too much like Carolina Girl, which is a big t-shirt company.  Using Kakalaki instead of Carolina seemed more original.  I’d heard my dad use it endearingly sometimes, so it wormed its way into my vocabulary.

However, as you guys probably noticed, “Kakalaki” is a bit hard to spell.  That’s why I refer to the blog/e-magazine as SKG Fun.  Much easier to stick into people’s minds.

When did you decide to start SKG Fun?

When I was in middle school, I was subscribed to the American Girl magazine for a while.  However, as I grew older, I noticed the magazine became rather boring for me.  Although it was wholesome, it was also noticeably geared toward younger girls and soon became to lack interest.

As a good bookworm should do, I searched for new reading material.  Unfortunately, most teen magazines are extremely dirty and worldly.  So, I decided to make my own.

For a while, I’d been playing around with the idea of creating my own e-magazine.  The pieces fell together after I mentioned it to my mom and she loved the idea.  It just seemed to fall into place!

Was SKG Fun just a blog at first or did you do the newsletter as well?

I actually started with the newsletter first.  I sent it out by email.  After a few years, my dad suggested I start a blog.  He bought a domain and bam!  Now we’re a blog too.

Also, the “newsletter” morphed into more of a magazine-type thing so I refer to it now as an e-magazine.

Do you have a favorite blog post that you have written?

I really enjoy writing comical posts, but my posts from the “My Thoughts On” series are some of my favorite.  I wrote one called “Thou Art Lame,” focusing on how teenagers spurn little kids.  I also wrote “You Are Beautiful” after I was feeling really down about my appearance.  This is a real problem in teen girls’ lives—feeling like we aren’t “beautiful” enough.

articles_2016

Tell us a little about the newsletters you’ll be doing this year.

This year’s theme is “Time Travel”!  Each issue will focus on a different decade from the 1900s.  We’re starting off with the 1920’s (which will deal with flappers and the suffragette movement).  Next will be the 40s and, my personal favorite, the 50s (I just love the saddle shoes and cute love songs!).  Then we’ll go to the 60s and 70s (lots of flower power and rebellion), and finally the good old 80s.  I’m hoping that when readers open up their SKG Fun e-magazine, they’ll be immersed in another time period.  Our goal is always to educate girls, but to make the experience pleasurable.

How many writers for the newsletter are there?

Not including myself, we currently have about nine active writers.

What is your favorite part about the blog/doing the newsletters?

I love brainstorming blog post ideas, writing them out, and seeing all my work come to fruition.  The best feeling ever is when you write something and later discover all these comments at the bottom with girls saying you made their day.  It really just gives me chills that I can have an impact on so many girls, just by using my gift of writing.

My favorite part about making the e-magazines is formatting.  I’m actually trying out magazine formatting this year and, although it takes about three times longer to do, I’m excited to be broadening my horizons.

Well, that’s all!  Thanks so much for reading, and I’d love to hear from you!  Visit us over at skgfun.com and subscribe to our e-magazine for bimonthly fun.

3 thoughts on “SKG Interview!

Leave a Reply

