Mary And The Angel

Hi everyone!
I was recently asked to perform a skit for my church, for Christmas, and I was told it could be whatever I wanted. I had no idea what sort of thing to do, but I really wanted to write it myself. I tried to write a funny one, but it turned out really badly, and eventually, I just prayed about it. God did lead me to write something, and it went down really well with my church. I thought I’d share it with you, too. 🙂

“Mary And The Angel”

(Mary Is lying asleep on the ground. An angel walks up to her softly.)

ANGEL: Mary, young girl, do not be shaken.
The Lord has sent me; you must awaken.

(Mary wakes up with a start.)

MARY: Who are you?

ANGEL: My name is Gabriel.
I bring you greetings: you have served God well.
You ate highly favored, and He is with you.

MARY: I don’t understand – what are you here to do?

ANGEL: You have found God’s favor: do not be afraid.
I am come to tell you of the plans He has made.

MARY: Go on. I will do what the Lord has planned.

ANGEL: That is why He chose you, out if all of the land.
You will carry a baby, and give birth to a Son.
You must call Him Jesus, for He is the most holy One:
The Son of God, come to save the earth,
And you are to bear Him till the day of His birth.

MARY: But I am a virgin. How can this be?

ANGEL: The Child is the Lord’s, and belongs to He.
God can give children to those who are old:
He will always fulfill the things He has foretold.

MARY: Then I am ready. But what of the babe?
How will a child come to all the earth’s aid?

ANGEL: He is “God With Us”: Emmanuel.
He will do more than you could ever tell.
He is coming to forgive man’s sin;
To clean their hearts, and let God in.

MARY: But how will he make us all so pure?

ANGEL: In a way that only God’s love could endure:
He will die, and be hated to pay that price.
He will be the ultimate sacrifice;
An innocent Lamb, killed for all sin and fear,
He will die even for those who drive in the spear.
That is the depth of God’s love for the earth;
That us how much He believes you are worth.

MARY: (Tearfully) He loves us that much… He will come to be killed…! (Pause)
I am the Lord’s servant; may your word be fulfilled.

I hope you enjoyed it. Please let me know what you think! 🙂

Merry Christmas everyone! 🙂

13 thoughts on “Mary And The Angel

    1. Thank you! That’s cool – I hope you get to write films one day! 🙂 I like writing scripts too – I wrote a musical for my drama group last summer, and we performed it this April. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

