Baptism

Hey everyone! I forgot I was suppose to post yesterday, so I’m doing it today! And in case you couldn’t guess, I’m doing it on baptism!! And also, it’s like 11 at night, so this may not be the best post, but I’ll give it a wack. πŸ˜‰ Also, I’m gonna do it a little differently and have all the verses atΒ the end.

So baptism has been on my mind for a few week, since that’s when our church held our yearly baptism. And after I read a friend’s post on the subject (in case you’re interested, you can find that here). Also, I’ll try not to make this long or super preachy. πŸ˜‰

So baptism. Some of you have probably done it years ago, some maybe just recently, and yet others haven’t done it. First, if you haven’t, don’t feel bad! If you’re not ready, then you’re not yet. πŸ™‚

I got baptized just over a year ago, October 18, 2014. My sister was the year before that. I had gone to meetings, signed out all the papers saying I understood what it meant. But did I really? I understand it a lot more now, but I don’t regret doing it when I did.

I enjoyed (and, uh, was a little nervous) being on stage with a few hundred people watching me. I liked being able to get in water with my clothes. I enjoy being able to say that I’m baptized and have publicly declared my love for Christ. And I loved the prayer (though now I couldn’t repeat it) that my church pastor and youth pastor spoke over me.

Now, back to the subject at hand. πŸ™‚ What is baptism? Well, from my (limited) understanding, it’s to publicly declare your love for Christ. It’s not necessary to be baptized, the criminal hanging on the cross when Jesus was crucified certainly didn’t have time for a baptism, yet he went to heaven, didn’t he?

Well, in the Bible God wants us to be baptized. Why? If we don’t need to, then why do it?

Simple, because it’s publicly declaring that your are a child of Christ. I’m gonna go geek on you for a moment, say you like Doctor Who, or Star Wars, or a band, or whatever, do you want to wear t-shirts, have little trinkets saying that you like theΒ ____? If you’re like me, then of course! You want to let others know that you’re a total fangirl! So don’t we want to do the same with Jesus?

I wish I could go more in depth, but it’s only so much before a post gets long and boring. πŸ™‚ So in summary, baptism is our way of saying that we belong to Christ, and though it isn’t necessary, God wants us to do it!!

Hope at least some of you guys understood that! πŸ˜‰

β€œThen cometh Jesus from Galilee to Jordan unto John, to be baptized of him. But John forbad him, saying, I have need to be baptized of thee, and comest thou to me? And Jesus answering said unto him, Suffer it to be so now: for thus it becometh us to fulfil all righteousness. Then he suffered him. And Jesus, when he was baptized, went up straightway out of the water: and, lo, the heavens were opened unto him, and he saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove, and lighting upon him: And lo a voice from heaven, saying, This is my beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased.”

Matthew 3:13-17

“Now when all the people were baptized, it came to pass, that Jesus also being baptized, and praying, the heaven was opened, And the Holy Ghost descended in a bodily shape like a dove upon him, and a voice came from heaven, which said, Thou art my beloved Son; in thee I am well pleased.”

Luke 3:21, 22

β€œGo ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost: Teaching them to observe all things whatsoever I have commanded you: and, lo, I am with you always, even unto the end of the world. Amen.”

Matthew 28:19, 20

And finally:

β€œThen Peter said unto them, Repent, and be baptized every one of you in the name of Jesus Christ for the remission of sins, and ye shall receive the gift of the Holy Ghost.”

Acts 2:38

~Alyssa

2 thoughts on “Baptism

  1. Great post, Alyssa! ( especially for 11 at night! πŸ˜‰ ) I really enjoyed it. I was baptized in September of 2013 so just over 2 years ago. I was very excited because I got to do it with my brother, sister, and my mom. My mom had grown up in a Christian home and went to church and all, but she never got baptized before. I absolutely loved getting to do it with her! Our baptism seems a little different then yours. Our church was a pretty small church and we would just meet in a funeral home on Sundays. Before we got baptized, our pastor came over to our house and we shared our testimonies with him. Though I was very excited to be getting baptized, I was *so* nervous when he came over! We actually got baptized at a friends pool. Every month at our church, we would have an agape feast where we would go to someone’s house after church and hang out/eat. They decided to have the agape feast and the baptism together one time so that’s what we did. We would get into the pool and answer a few questions/ confuse the Jesus is Lord and then we got baptized. It was really awesome! Anyways… I really enjoyed this post! I love the verses you added with it as well!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

