My Favorite Bible Verses and Why

So today I’ll be doing some of my favorite Bible verses and why I like them.

First up:

The LORD said to him, “I have heard you pray to me. I have heard you ask me to show you my favor. You have built this temple. I have set it apart for myself. My Name will be there forever. My eyes and my heart will always be there.

1 Kings 9:3, NIrV

So I think I did a post on this before, but the reason that I like this verse is that it’s saying that God’s Name will be in his temple forever. Aren’t we His temple? When I first saw this, I thought that the verse was talking about us being his temple (even though it wasn’t). We are His temple, so this is basically saying that God has made us His special place.

Next:

But those who trust in the LORD will receive new strength. They will fly as high as eagles. They will run and not get tired. They will walk and not grow weak.

Isaiah 40:31, NIrV

So I’m sure that many of you have heard this verse countless times. But this is one of my complete favorite Bible verses, no matter how many times I’ve heard it. I mean, fly like eagles? New strength? Give me some of that!

Third:

So do not listen to your prophets. Do not listen to those who claim to have secret knowledge. Do not  listen to those who try to explain your dreams. Do not listen to those who get messages from people who have  died. Do not listen to those who practice evil magic. All of them will tell you, ‘You won’t serve the kind of Babylonia.’

Jeremiah 27:9, NIrV

I was just flipping through my Bible one night, hoping that God would supernaturally stop the page on one that I needed or something. He didn’t. So I stopped on a random page and read what my eyes first saw. It was this. I know it’s a little (or a lot) out of date, but take it like this; do not listen to other people who claim to have powers or magic. Do not listen to the rest of the world (unless it’s common sense). But do what is right in the eyes of God.

Fourth:

Jesus answered, “It is written, ‘Man does not live on bread alone, but by every word that comes from the mouth of God.'”

Matthew 4:4, NIV

This was one of our middle school Bible verses for us to memorize. I just love this verse. Basically it’s saying that we don’t live just by our basic necessities, but by God. Every word that he speaks gives us life.

And finally (so this doesn’t get too long):

“Come to me, all of you who are tired and are carrying heavy loads. I will  live you rest. Become my servants and learn from me, I am gentle and free of pride. You will find rest for you souls. Serving me easy, and my load is light.”

Matthew 11:28-30, NIrV

Basically, Jesus is saying that we should take our problems and worries to him. He will take care of us. Who doesn’t want that??

I could’ve listed a bunch more, but then the list would be far to long. 😀

Alyssa

10 thoughts on “My Favorite Bible Verses and Why

Leave a Reply

