Guest post Anna ~ Looking Back on Jr. High: A College Girls Perspective

Hey everybody! So, today one of my very good friends, Anna, will be guest posting today! I hope you all enjoy reading it as much I did. 🙂

Howdy all! First off, I would like to say thank you so much for inviting me to do a guest post on your lovely blog. 🙂 Now to introduce myself. My name is Anna and I live in a rural area in Northern CA pretty close to the Oregon boarder. It’s the place I’ve called home for the past ten years now. I am 19 years old and am a  sophomore in college. I am also a homeschool graduate though! I love to read like crazy, I have chickens, goats and a very sweet dog named Bear. I enjoy baking, photography, photo editing, traveling, swimming, riding horses any chance I get and of course, writing. The most important thing about me though is that Jesus Christ is my Lord and Savior.

There are definitely times when I cannot believe that I am now 19! These past few years went by so fast! At times I get this weird feeling that it seems like just the other day I was in 7th grade. I sometimes I still feel like it too.  Looking back though at that time of being Jr. High age I definitely can see and realize that God used that window of time in my life to not only grow me physically but spiritually, and emotionally as well and the people and experiences that I had helped to grow me into the person that I am now. I know I did more spiritual and emotional growing up anyhow. I only got to be 5’3 in physical height. 😉 And that is what I want to share a little bit about with you all here today, about growing up. And I want to hopefully give some encouragement that it is going to be an exciting and good time in your life.

I know that you all are probably going through some crazy change right now in one way or another. You’re getting older, some of your old interests might be going away and now you’re getting new ones, making new friends, studying harder topics in school, your body is growing. Boy oh boy is there a lot of changes! And if were at all like me at that age you may be going “what in the world is happening here?!” But before you freak out too much take a deep breath and take a moment to remember that God has got it all under control. And no matter what other things are changing around you, you can rest assured that God and his love for you will not change.

When I was around 12 and 13 I pretty much decided that I know exactly what I wanted to do when I grew up. I was going to marry a handsome rodeo cowboy who was going to take me to live on a big ranch, preferably in Texas, and teach me all about roping and riding. I was going to have several kids on that ranch and a few horses too. I was never going to go to college, because who wants to spend more time studying? Not me! And after highschool I told myself that I was never going to take another math course again. (I probably wouldn’t pass it anyway.)  That plan sounded wonderfully perfect to me. Now if only it would just all come true…

As I got older though, God changed those plans. He let me know in different ways that he had a different plan for me than I had for myself. I have been finding out that his ways, plans, and thoughts are so much higher than mine. So now because of his plans and not mine, I am now taking college classes. I am in the processes of working on yet my third college math class. I haven’t married my cowboy yet. Not that it still can’t happen but it won’t be the same one as I had hoped it would be at age 12. I don’t know if I’ll ever live in TX. But you know, it’s O.K.! 🙂

Jesus has been with me every step of the way. I used to think that growing up was going to be scary. And yes, at times there have been moments when I have been frightened by different things that have happened. I can get really scared about the “fear of the unknown.” But I have wise and loving parents who have helped to guide me. I learned to take each day one at a time, I have learned that you don’t have to rush growing up. In fact, to just enjoy whatever stage of life I am in whether it’s childhood, Jr. High, highschool or college because it all goes by so fast anyway and yet in every age and stage there is always going to be something really special or fun to enjoy that may only be happening in that one certain time of your life.

So to end, I want to leave with these thoughts: “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11 NIV

God is going to take you on a grand adventure! He has a different and unique plan for each and every one of your lives. He has made you all fearfully and wonderfully. And each year he is going to be revealing a little bit more of his plan for you. So don’t be scared to follow wherever he leads you to in these coming years. Just sit back and enjoy the ride, because with God your life is in good hands! ~Anna

3 thoughts on “Guest post Anna ~ Looking Back on Jr. High: A College Girls Perspective

  1. Anna, I love this post! I’m a senior in highschool and I’ve been already noticing everything you mentioned here, especially looking back! haha You sound like an awesome person that is really letting God work in your life! Thanks for this encouraging post.

    Ruth

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

