We are God’s Temple

Hey everyone! I think in my last post I forgot to say my name. I’m Alyssa! Pleasure to meet you! Anyways, onto the post!

So, every night (well, maybe not every) I pray to God, close my eyes, then open my Bible to a random page. Sometimes I get a passage that doesn’t strike my heart chord, but every once in awhile, I get one that really means something to me. This was one of them. Here it is:

The Lord said to him:

“I have heard the prayer and plea you have made before me;

I have consecrated this temple, which you have built,

by putting my Name there forever.

My eyes and my heart will always be there.

I Kings 9:3 NIV

This passage really struck me. I’m not sure what you got when you first read it, but I thought: me. He’s talking about me. I am His temple, He has put His Name in me. His eyes and heart will be there always. He has made me holy. BTW, if you don’t know what consecration is (don’t worry, I had to look it up!), it is the solemn dedication to a special purpose or service.

I decided to go back as I always do, to put the verse in context. I found that He was talking about the temple that Solomon built for him. I was a little disappointed. This had meant a lot to me, knowing that I’m special enough for Him so that He would use me for His purpose. When I found He was talking about a temple? I was disappointed. But wait! We are his temple! The Bible says we are his temple! Such as:

Do you not know that you are a temple of God and that the Spirit of God dwells in you?

If any man destroys the temple of God, God will destroy him, for the temple of God is holy,

and that is what you are.

1 Corinthians 3:16-17 NIV

We are his temple. The Lord will dwell in us, His temple. He will always be with us. It says it in the Bible, so it must be true.

No matter what you think of yourself, whether you think of yourself highly or poorly, God loves you so much! He wants you to be his holy place. You are special. You are worthy. No matter what you or other people say, you are enough for Him.

2 thoughts on “We are God’s Temple

Leave a Reply

