choosing words

gb1 gb2 gb3Words. Words can heal. Words can scar. Whether you believe it or not, words really do matter. When they come spilling out of your mouth, you might not even realize you hurt someone. Maybe that someone will always remember those words, maybe they will always beat them down through the tough times, maybe-to certain people it will make them close up. It’s possible that they won’t want to talk to people anymore, for fear of what people will think or say. Of course, everyone reacts differently. A few kind words can do far as well. I, myself have to work on this as well. It’s easy for us to say things, because we don’t think of them before we speak.

A year ago or so, I had lost my voice from a cold. Completely. There was no talking. When I tried to talk, only a few scratchy words made it out of my mouth. It made me think, made me choose my words wisely..in that way we should think before we speak. If it sounds kind, go right ahead. Say it. If not, keep it in. Say something nice to replace those words. If it sounds iffy to you, it’s best not to say anything at all, more than likely if it’s iffy to you it might hurt the other person you are speaking to. Really think about it. I’m sure most of us need to work on it..I know I do.

It takes a million compliments to build you up. And one insult to send it all crashing down. – unknown

Words can be short and easy to speak, but their echos are truly endless. – Mother Teresa

Sometimes, not saying anything is the best answer. You see, silence can never be misquoted. – unknown

 

 

13 thoughts on “choosing words

    1. Thanks, Maddy! Yes, we know ourselves the way people talk to us..it’s a bigger thing than we think.. πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. My pleasure! That’s definitely true! Also, have you seen Grace from The Short End Of Things last post? She had different quotes and one I thought was really good so I’ll share it with you.
        It said….
        Be careful with your words, once they are said, they can only be forgiven, not forgotten

        I thought that I would show that to you since that’s kind of what your post is about. It’s like you could say something mean and the person can forgive you but they will always remember what you said and in the inside, it probably still hurts. I know a girls who said some rude things to me when I was like11 or so and she asked for forgiveness and I did forgive her but it still makes me sad to even think about it. Anyways, sorry that this was so long! I just saw that and I wanted to share it with you πŸ™‚

        Like

  1. I didn’t see that! It’s a very good quote though. Yes, I know what you mean. Even when people say something you probably won’t forget it..still, if they ask for forgiveness you probably feel a little better. It’s best not to dwell in the past, which can he hard, but it’s something we all need to do. Now that I think about it, that’s kind of what my story is about. Moving on. Thanks for sharing! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

