The Importance of Personal Devotions

It seems that in my life sometimes the things that should come first will be the things that I let slip first. With the end of the school year, standardized tests, long dance rehearsals, and trying to hurry and get everything finished, I noticed recently that I haven’t been reading my Bible, inspirationals, or devotionals as often as I used to. This really bothered me, and so this morning I purposed to get up earlier and do personal devotions before I started my day. : ) I read where I last left off in my Bible, and opened my devotional. This is what it fell open to:

“But I fear that, as the serpent deceived Eve by his cunning, your minds may be seduced from a complete and pure devotion to Christ.”  2 Corinthians 11:3

This was the opening sentence for my devotional:

eachdayhisway1

“The enemy’s biggest goal every day isn’t to get you to commit some big sin like lying or stealing. His number one goal is to keep you from being close to God.”

Taken from Each Day His Way Devotional.

If you allow yourself to drift away from the Lord, you will be more vulnerable to the enemy. He wants you to become distracted and busy. He wants you to say, “0h, I’ll read my Bible later, or when I feel like it.” Whenever you allow yourself to be persuaded from staying in the Word, you are actually giving in to the devil. You are allowing him to get what he wants. What a terrible thing to think about!

“Therefore, submit to God. But resist the Devil, and he will flee from you.”  James 4:7

I felt so refreshed this morning after having my personal devotions. Your Bible is precious; you are so blessed to have it. It makes me think of how often I take it for granted. Yes, this is a busy time of year, with it being the end of the school year, but your relationship with God is so much more important. Reading your Bible is necessary in keeping a close walk with God. : )

I usually read 2 or 3 chapters in the Bible as part of my morning devotions. I also like to read a daily devotional and a chapter in an inspirational or discipleship book. (Bright Lights.) I really enjoy and highly recommend having a journal in which you can write verses or lessons that stand out to you, testimonies, and reflecting of your time spent in Bible reading in prayer. It is so beneficial for me. I also really enjoy writing. : )

 Here is an inspiring book I recommend for your devotions.

caabyoungwoman

Young Woman, Be Virtuous! By David and Lorraine Burkholder.

Chapters include: Getting Acquainted with God, Developing a Respectable Character, Communication, What You Read, Forward by Mistakes and Failures, Being Thrifty, Be Becoming, and Christian Service.

3 thoughts on “The Importance of Personal Devotions

Leave a Reply

